time flies . . .

. . . when you’re a third year law student!

I absolutely cannot believe that we’re into the final week of February already. This semester is flying by. I’m enjoying my classes, and how so many of my “extras” are starting to wind down.

Law and Religion is going well now, though the theory portion was very intimidating. Reading Aquinas and Augustine and Hobbes and Luther was all fine and good, but there was no way I was going to be confident enough to talk much about them in class. I am by no stretch of the imagination a philosopher or theologist. Now we’re into the history portion, which is completely manageable. I do have to write a 25-page paper for my Advanced Writing Requirement, which should be interesting if I go forward with the topic I’m considering. And no, I can’t tell you — in case you suddenly decide to write a paper about it and get it published and preempt me!

Criminal Procedure is good, though it seems to be a bit less black and white than I imagined. We talk a lot about policy and reasons for the debate on both sides of an issue, like bail bonds or plea agreements. Frankly, I’m not too sure what to expect on the final exam.

Children and the Law, Mediation, and Iowa Research are all going to be very useful to me after graduation. I’m looking forward into putting what I’m learning in all three of these classes into action when I practice.

As for the rest, I have my last edit to finish for the journal. Tomorrow night is my last student bar association meeting, and today I graded my last weekly research assignment and turned in my answer keys. I still will grade the citations in the appellate briefs and a few writing assignments, but no keys are needed for those. I am still working on organizing the 5k fundraiser for Equal Justice Works, but thankfully have a great group of people to pass the torch on to.

So, I’m taking a deep breath and keeping on keepin’ on. 80 days until graduation!

One thought on “time flies . . .

Leave a Reply

