plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

I had the opportunity to attend my 10 year class reunion this past weekend. It was great to see some of my favorite people in the world, and many that I haven’t seen since graduation. I was only able to be there for a short time because I was double booked for the evening, but one observation in particular will stick with me.

I mused that Facebook has taken the mystery out of things like class reunions. I knew who was married or had children. I knew that many of my classmates have moved about the country. I knew that some of them are leading fabulous lives, and some of them are still finding their way. I’d seen pictures to prove all of it. I’d reminisced with many of them over things, and shared in the joy of our new accomplishments.

But at the same time, that electronic existence did not compare to the reality of an excited hug or a shared laugh. We’re all so different – so grown up. But really, we’re still the same.

One thought on “plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

  1. I loved seeing you but I want more!! I’m thinking we need to hog tie Em and get together before the end of the summer. I don’t care what we do!!

Leave a Reply

