inevitable consequence

Every time it comes time for finals, I forget just how terrible it is.

Maybe it’s the optimist in me, but I start out the two week period with an attitude of “this-won’t-be-so-bad-I’ll-just-study-and-get-it-over-with-and-be-done-and-then-I-get-a-break.” By the end of the two week period, I am banging my head against the wall that suddenly sprang up in my path, wishing to do something – anything – other than study for one more minute. It’s the inevitable consequence of waiting until finals time to do much in the way of finals prep. You reach that point where you essentially break. I spent that evening playing Bejeweled Blitz and watching The Office on DVD. I was able to get a lot of work done the next day, but I felt guilty and somehow less prepared than I should have been when it came time to take that exam. Even so, I still made it through and didn’t completely blank on the test.

I guess my point is that finals are done – I survived another round of three page hypotheticals and ridiculously impossible multiple choice questions. I knocked Con Law II, Conflicts of Law, Legislation, Family Law and Evidence off my list of classes. I am halfway through my law school career. And I still haven’t learned the lesson that finals time is a marathon, not a sprint. No one can full-out sprint for two weeks. The funny thing is that no matter how rational I feel right now looking back, I know that come next semester, I will save my outlining for finals time. I will have CALI exercises to do, and papers to write. I do budget my time fairly well throughout the semester, but there are only 24 hours in a day and 7 days in a week. And contrary to popular belief, I do not like to spend all of my time holed up in the law library basement or in my room at the apartment studying.

The light at the end of the tunnel in all of this is that next semester, I will only have two finals. When everyone else is stressing for another full week, I will be done. Most likely sleeping on my couch, watching Gilmore Girls on DVD and eating homecooked food. Remind me of that when I complain about hitting the wall next semester, okay?

3 thoughts on “inevitable consequence

  1. I’m the exact same way. I always say, “THIS TIME I will be prepared. This time I will have everything done.” And then I wind up drinking 4 pots of coffee to get it all finished on time. ::sigh::
    PS – can you update your link to my blog?

  2. Thanks, Poppy! Same to you. 🙂

    Amanda – updated your link. Sorry about that! I think a lot of law students do the same thing. We can rationalize it by saying we work better under pressure or somesuch, right?

Leave a Reply

