does the ‘s’ stand for swindle?

Through my work planning an event for the Drake Law Women, I learned that we can have LSAC send us a list of contact information for individuals in our state who have signed up to take the LSAT. I knew that schools used this service, but what I didn’t know was that it only costs the school $2.00 for the list.

Two. Dollars.

Seriously.

I paid $123.00 for the LSAT (twice), and a total of over $200 for reports and fees. And they charge law schools a measly two bucks apiece to sell my contact information?

I expected obtaining that list to cost us a fair chunk of our budget. While I’m happy it didn’t, somehow it seems so…disproportionate.

3 thoughts on “does the ‘s’ stand for swindle?

  1. Don’t forget about previous LSAT tests. They sell them to test takers at bucks a test (and when there’s 50 some of them it adds up), while the prep-test companies have the option of getting them at a bulk discount. I don’t even want to think about how much money I’m spending just to prepare for the LSAT, let alone apply to law school.

  2. What for? To arrange carpools or something? Is this something you need to opt in for or do they just hand out your contact info whenever they want?

  3. Ricky: So true! And then there’s the bar exam and all of the preparation for that!

    Soleil: You opt in when you sign up for your account. It’s for law schools to contact prospective students. We’re using it to contact women who have taken or plan to take the LSAT to invite them to our event.

Leave a Reply

