something new and refreshing, perhaps

Before law school and as a 1L, I wasn’t so sure about all of the advice flying my way. The overall tone of what people were saying was one that made me nervous and worried. I grew tired of hearing all of the negativity and the seemingly endless anecdotes about how horrible law school was.

Going into my 2L year, I have a strong desire to dispense advice. I’ve been finding blogs of soon-to-be 1Ls and chiming in where appropriate. I suppose it’s just a compulsion to share my “wisdom” gained through my very own trial by fire. But the difference between my advice and that of many of the people I spoke to before law school started is that I actually LIKE law school.

Yes, it has had its terrible, horrible, no-good and very bad days. Days that made me want to call it quits, pull my comforter over my head, and maybe even cry a little bit. Days that made me doubt whether I was able to make it, whether I was smart enough. Days when I felt stuck, stupid, and inadequate.

But it also has had great days. Days when I utterly impressed my professor, when property suddenly made sense, when I had a chance to talk with some of the smartest people I’ve ever met. Days when I worked hard and was rewarded for it, when I attended a wonderful dinner at a professor’s house with a great group of people, when I helped a few underprivileged people by doing their taxes, when I laughed in the SBA office with friends. Days when I interviewed fascinating professors for the Friday Fun Memo, when I studied civil procedure by the lake in the warm spring sunshine, when I helped raise money for homeless youth, and when I helped provide a safe place for kids to enjoy Halloween. Even a day when I found out that I would be a teaching assistant for my favorite professor.

It’s not all sunshine and roses. It’s been the hardest I’ve had to work in my entire life. But law school isn’t the nightmare many people make it out to be. At least, not all the time.

8 thoughts on “something new and refreshing, perhaps

  1. Like it. This is so true!! I mean… I could give plenty of negative stories…but man alive, when that light bulb goes off a week before the final and the rule of perpetuities all of a sudden clicked, I was prolly the happiest I’d been in awhile! LOL! Then, I wanted to tell everyone (people who weren’t in law school) and they thought I was nuts! 🙂

  2. Em: 🙂

    Jackie: So very true. I can’t even begin to describe how it felt when it just finally clicked… And of course, non-law students just wouldn’t get that!

  3. This is exactly how I imagined it to be so I’m glad that at least one person affirms that. lol. I’m more of the half-full kind of person and I don’t believe it could be THAT bad. Okay I do, but only because I don’t want to eat my words in the end. Thanks though, it’s good to see some positivity!

  4. Okay this post makes me happy. As the first day of orientation gets more and more unavoidable, I find myself feeling more and more anxious. Thanks for making me feel better, and thanks for the great advice! 🙂

  5. skinny jeans: Just pay attention and realize there are good moments.

    esq.: I’m an optimist at heart, too. 🙂

    ninja: You’re welcome, and good luck!

  6. Pingback: Blawgs I Read: Exhibit L « 0L to 3L: My Journey to & through Law School

Leave a Reply

