the waiting game

Yesterday visiting the school even for a short time had a few effects on me.

First, I noticed that our mail folders have been switched over. My mailbox is now in the “Law 2” section, which makes it all the more real to me that school starts in a little over a month and I will no longer be a tortured 1L. (Just an overworked 2L, yay!)

Second, I grumbled a bit but was overall happy with the price of my books for next year. It certainly wasn’t as bad as fall semester last year, but it isn’t exactly a hundred bucks either. Luckily, I’m not alone in the funding-for-books-department so it shouldn’t sting nearly as much.

Third, it made me feel very impatient. I’ve talked about it before, but I’ll say it again. Law school is one big waiting game with frenzied periods of learning in between. Right now I am waiting to hear whether I made the arbritration team and whether I will be a staffer for Drake Law Review or the Journal of Agricultural Law. When I am busy with work and life, it’s not really something that comes up in daily thought. But being at the school drew out that impatience. I’m a planner. I want to know what to expect out of my second year. I don’t want something to be thrown on me last minute if I already have other things planned out.

I need to learn not to stress or worry over things which I have no control because the world is full of those kinds of things. So for now, I wait.

5 thoughts on “the waiting game

  1. For a little while my senior year of college I thought about going to Drake (I was in an “I think I want to stay in Iowa” phase). Then I decided to go somewhere closer to home (not in Iowa). Got to love the DSM though 🙂

  2. “I’m a planner” – same here. The amount of stress that being pulled off of UT’s waitlist has caused is probably going to turn my hair white. I take joy in to-do lists and spreadsheets and post-its. And yet – I’m still sorting out financial aid, I have no place to live, and no idea about anything other then I better show up for orientation on 8/24 or they’ll kick me out. Law School, in so far as it relates to people who are planners, is probably going to suck. Luckily, I’m prepared to embrace white hair at an early age. Ha.

    ::headdesk::

  3. Chere: I definitely love the DSM. 🙂 Drake definitely was the right choice for me.

    Elle: To an extent it really isn’t the best for planners. I will say my school is generally pretty good about announcing dates in advance and so on – just these two things are stretched out. Well, that and grades. But that’s pretty much EVERY school. LOL

  4. You’re absolutely right about the patchiness of a law degree – with extremely frenzied periods interspersed with lulls and awkward waiting.

    I hope this current ‘waiting game’ is over for you soon!

    Nice blawg btw: I’ve added you to my US blawgroll over at Law Actually 🙂

Leave a Reply

