on life, law, learning, laughter, love & leisure

Change has been in the air for me this summer.

Last year, I quit my full time job and started law school. With the rigors of the first year being what they are, I was surprised to find myself getting into a niche and thriving. I was very involved in activities and volunteer work, and I feel my experience has been very enriched by doing so. I earned a position as a teaching assistant for this coming fall and even worked on an unofficial student publication. No matter how confident I appeared on the outside, though, I felt as though I were floating adrift in an unfamiliar world. But that’ s all different now.

Having finished my 1L year, I am entrenched in the middle of 1L summer. I am working as the sole law clerk for a small firm (2 partners and 1 attorney), and I am enjoying every moment. I have a great boss who is making sure to teach me everything he can – from how to write good interrogatories to how to know when you should discount a client’s bill. Sure, research on property line disputes might not be the most interesting reading material and the variety of fact patterns in family law cases is sometimes staggering. But it’s interesting. It’s challenging. It’s exactly what I want to be doing with my life, and I can’t even begin to describe how gratifying it is to know you’ve been making the right decisions.

I’m starting this blog as Exhibit L because it’s about life, law, learning, laughter, love, and leisure. All of those things make up “me”, and I want to share them with you here. If you’re curious to read about my first year and before, you can find that here.

Welcome to Exhibit L. I hope you enjoy it as much as I’m sure I will.

11 thoughts on “on life, law, learning, laughter, love & leisure

  1. I love it that you love your job! Learning about the law and seeing the everyday practice of it are so different. I’m so excited for you!

  2. Congrats on your new blog home! {I really like the flowers in your header} I came across your link from Jansen and can’t really believe there was a law school blog I wasn’t reading! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your summer!

  3. Veaj: Yay!

    Colsy: So very true – it’s amazing just how different the two are.

    Chere: Welcome! I’ll check out your site!

    Leesepea: Thanks!

    Poppy: Huzzah! Hi! Hee hee… Ooh, alliteration…

    Jonny: 🙂

  4. I am in the same situation as you were…about to leave my (awesome) job for law school and am VERY nervous!!! It seems like it worked out OK for you. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  5. rosyjen: I wish you all the best – I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you too.

    Useless: Thanks! 🙂 I hope your barzam studying is going well – I’m sure you can’t wait to be done!

  6. Pingback: INTROBLAST

Leave a Reply

